Just the beginning.

Day 1: 24 May 2014

Status: Excited yet exhausted turned slightly negative start

 

3:00am

After a 3-hour delay from the world’s happiest flight, I got to the custom counter and was dying to get to the hostel as quickly as possible. I’d only have a couple of hours to nap before getting up and hop on the bus.

Note to self – never pick another lady officer when at custom check.

This would explained my first ‘slightly offended’ start to New Zealand. I greeted her, she ignored 😦 As usual, she started firing questions such as why I was here, how long I’m staying, departure ticket and etc. Then…

Officer: So you’re travelling alone?! No friends or family here?! Why?

Me:…..Yes and yes. Because I can (?)

Officer: Are you not afraid? Where would you be visiting?

Me: Not really, you can’t stop doing things just because you’re afraid *smiley face* I’m visiting everywhere, both North and South Islands.

Officer: Alone?! Where would you be staying?

Me: I booked the Kiwi Experience pass, not sure where I’ll be staying but that can be sorted on the bus. As of tonight, YMCA.

Officer: You only bought your departing ticket this afternoon? Why?

Me: Yes, as I mentioned earlier it is a last minute decision. It is sort of a detour from Australia to New Zealand, before going to Malaysia. *I was getting a bit annoyed, here I was trying to be friendly and still felt like I was being questioned for no apparent reason. Duh, I have an Asianly innocent face!!* 

Officer: Oh so you came from Australia? …what do you do there: study? work?

Me: Work. For the Government.

Officer: Did you purchase the ticket yourself?

Me: …………………………… YES.

Madam, do I look like a druggie? You just hurt my pride, and re-established my so-called craziness. But really, is spontaneity really crazy?

My questions to you, dear officer, why can’t I book my flights last minute (as long as I could pay the price)? Why can’t I decide to go somewhere, travel to a foreign land last minute, without knowing anyone or without companion.?

 

Cool factor: The airport hallway entering to the custom has this gorgeous looking Maori sculptured overhead/gate and they were playing some traditional music. 

 

The way to the hostel takes about 45 minutes. It was empty – much emptier than Brisbane streets in wee hours. Other than that, it felt the same. The shophouses, building structures and plans reminded me of the combination between Brisbane and Sydney.

I found a few similarities. For one, there’s one street that reminds me of the Valley –  with bright lit car showrooms and dealerships shops, all aligned neatly in a row. The houses reminds me of the Asian suburban area in Brisbane. Oh! And their one and only famous, busy street in town: Queen Street 🙂

Triumph factor: They have Burger King, Wendy’s Burger and Carls Junior!

4:00am

The taxi pulled up to the front of the hostel, and the driver was kind enough to carry my backpack into the reception for me. The security guard was friendly and so very considerate that I do not have NZD on me and couldn’t pay the key deposit of $20 (key deposit applies to almost all hostel in New Zealand). She said, after all you’ll only be here for a couple of hours. 

Unfortunately I had to go up and down with my huge as backpack three times, in order to get into my room. The security lady came up with me, open the lock with a master key. Turned out that the roommate had locked the door from the inside.

And this is my unpleasant experience no. 2 …

Roomie: WHY YOU COME IN SO LATE?! (I caps-locked it because she was literally CAPS-LOCKING at both of us)

Security: This girl needs just checked in and she couldn’t get in because you locked the door.

Roomie: WHY YOU COME IN SO LATE?! YOU KNOW WHAT TIME?! YOU WAKE ME UP!!

Security: I’m sorry, please go back to sleep. We just need to get this girl in that’s all.

Roomie: WHY YOU LET HER IN?! YOU WAKE ME UP! YOU KNOW WHAT TIME!!!

Security: We are sorry, but you are in a shared room and people come and go. This poor girl just arrived and checked in at 4am. It’s not her fault.

Roomie: I DON’T CARE! YOU WAKE ME UP!

……….. I apologised to the security lady and got her out of the mess. Because I was trying to be considerate, I tried to organise myself in the dark. Couple of minutes later,

Roomie: DO YOU KNOW WHAT IS RESPECT?! I AM SLEEPING YOU WAKE ME UP!

Me: I’m sorry, but I’m just trying to get organise and go to bed. I left the lights off and had tried to be quiet –

Roomie: YOU ARE SO NOISY!!! WHY YOU COME SO LATE?! YOU HAVE NO RESPECT! DON’T COME IN SO LATE

Me: I just arrive, my flight was delayed and I just checked in –

Roomie: I DON’T CARE!!!! I AM SLEEPING YOU WAKE ME UP!

And that’s it, cutting me off twice in a row so abruptly and being a total b!tch.

Me: And who cares about you sleeping or not too?! This is a shared room, not your room.

The crazy lady suddenly jumped out of the bed – which to be honest frighten me a bit for I thought she was gonna go bananas and hit me – and swore at me in Cantonese.

Hah! I know what you’re saying lady, I speak 5 languages! Nay I didn’t say that, I was on my good-girl mode.

Roomie: I’m going to complain.

Me: Be my guest.

And she flung the door open, and went yelling at the hallway.

That morning, I lied in bed trying not to fall deeply asleep – just in case she goes crazy on me again while I’m sleeping. So there goes another hour of my nap time.

8:00am

As the bus went around picking up the rest of the bus group, I had a brisk chance to see the city in gloomy daylight.

Similarities:

  • Bare feet (Kiwi, I assumed) bogans walking the street – I felt at home :p
  • Heaps of Asians (and I’m not being racist or stereotype, I’m an Asian too after all) queuing in front of Foot Locker for the newly released AirJordan, way before any shops are opened.

And off we go….cruising along the highway on the green bus. Alone but it was feeling alright. I tried to stay awake (as I was advised) but just kept drifting away.

