Blonde reads too

I read.

But I’m quite bad with Authors and never really had a particular favourite author that I MUST READ ALL HIS/HER BOOKS. I go for the story plot and sometimes, the book cover art. (yes, so very illiterate of me) Except J.K Rowling and Stephanie Meyer because, well it was a hit and I was young. Despite what “professional readers and writers” might think, I personally like their style.

And then I discover my favourite author. Paulo Coelho. The author for the well-known “The Alchemist”. Of course, he has other books but I had built a relationship with his books and thoughts based on The Alchemist.

What I like about his books: No matter how many times you read it, each time when you go back to the book you get out of it with different aspiration and interpretation. In a way, I see this as an evaluation for my self-growing. In comes in handy too, for myself, to gauge if I’m feeling bubbly or cynical.

Some of my favourite quotes:

When you really desire something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it. – The Alchemist

Be brave enough to live different. – Veronika Decides to Die

If someone isn’t what others want them to be, the others become angry. Everyone seems to have a clear idea of how other people should lead their lives, but none about his or her own. – The Alchemist

No one loses anyone, because no one owns anyone.

That is the true experience of freedom: having the most important thing in the world without owning it. – Eleven Minutes

It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting. – The Alchemist

At every moment of our lives, we all have one foot in a fairy tale and the other in the abyss. – Eleven Minutes

People never learn anything by being told, they have to find out for themselves. – Veronika Decides to Die

I read.

I may be a blonde but I read. I was usually the young kid who got excited receiving books as birthday and Christmas gifts. Mom only buy us books as everything else is “a luxury and not a necessity”.

As a matter of fact, I don’t like reading on a screen. I love holding the hard copy. The smell of a good ol’ book; the touch of the slightly yellow, thin paper; and the intimacy between the words and letters – they excite me. I love coiling up in a corner, or hiding under my blanket with a torch when it was supposed to be bedtime – should never have done it because I ended up with a pair of glasses and they don’t make me smart nor look good.

The isolation when everyone in a room was chattering away. The roller-coaster ride emotions that one could hardly get in a day when you are young: the falling-in-love feeling, compliment by the shock of realizing your crush is a psychotic killer; or experiencing the different personalities in the mind of Billy Milligan; or having a bitch fight with your best girlfriend over a cute guy. The places your mind could travel to.

I couldn’t have experience all these emotions and be so whimsical/dramatic/nutty, if it wasn’t for the books.

Okay, I’m off track now.

People hardly buy books as gifts anymore. Perhaps only nursery rhymes and fairy tales for little children. I have yet to finish all of Paulo Coelho’s books and wouldn’t mind them as birthday/anniversary/valentine/Christmas/new year/and random surprises gifts =)

MY POINT IS – try picking up someone in the bookstore or library instead of in a club or on the streets (9 out of 10 times I’d give you a fake name and couldn’t even recollect how you’d look like the next minute). Try buying them a book instead of a drink – coffee and hot chocolate exception.

I have yet to encounter such experience but I think it would be a good feeling. The conversation would be better than just “Hi, how are you? What’s your name? Where are you from?”

